AGBIS is a registered charity (No 1108756) and company (No 0521716) limited by guarantee governed by a Board which meets at least once every school term. Board members are nominated by school governing bodies and serve initially for a three year period. The Board is advised by three committees: Training and Membership, Nominations & Governance and Finance. The Board is entrusted with the management of the Association and has absolute discretion in applying the funds in furtherance of the objects of the Association.

As one of seven Associations which are members of the Independent Schools Council (ISC), AGBIS has two seats on the ISC Board and a similar level of membership on relevant ISC committees. The Chief Executive and Director of Training also meet informally with their opposite numbers in the ISC Associations.

Meet the AGBIS Board

The elected and co-opted members of the Board are:

Mark Taylor

Mark Taylor


Mark Taylor is a Governor at Tring Park School for the Performing Arts and Folkestone Academy. Having worked in the City, Mark's career as a Bursar started in 1993 at Cranbrook School, appointed to Dulwich Prep School, Cranbrook in 1996, Bedales Schools in 2003 and the King’s School, Canterbury in 2010. Mark was elected ISBA Chairman from 2013 – 2016.  

Mike Gregson

Mike Gregson

Deputy Chair

Mike Gregson has a life-long interest in education and recently retired as Chair of The Edinburgh Academy, a co-educational day school with over 1,000 pupils aged between 2 and 18 years. He remains connected to the school as Chair of The Edinburgh Academy Foundation and The Eric H Stevenson Charitable Trust. He has also been a trustee of a number of charities and pension funds and is currently Chair of the RSNO Pension Scheme.

Sarah Phillips

Sarah Phillips


Sarah Phillips has been a Governor of the King Alfred School in north London for over 20 years and was elected by the school community as Treasurer / Chair of the Finance Committee annually between 2004 and her resignation in 2018. Sarah Phillips is also the Finance Manager and Company Secretary for a trade association in the construction industry.

Rosie Allen: Governor at City of London School

Tom Beardmore-Gray: Chief Executive at The Prep School Trust

Julie Cornell: Governor at St George's School, Windsor Castle

Paul Dillon-Robinson: Director at Hurst Education Trust Ltd

John Edward: Former Director of Scottish Council of Independent Schools (SCIS), Head of Operations at The Scottish Council on Global Affairs 

Caroline Jordan: Governor at New College School

Christine Keunen: Governor at Stonyhurst College

Irfan Latif: Governor at Greenfield School, Governor at Leighton Park School in Reading

Charlotte Marten:  Rugby School

Barney Northover: Partner VWV 

Nigel Taylor: Court of Governors, Mill Hill Foundation; governor, Hazelwood Prep School

Sophie Rees:  Thomas's London Day Schools

Diana Robinson: Chair of Governors at Westbrook Hay Preparatory School

David Stanton:  Governor at Westminster School